Few of my Favorite Classics

Classics are not always easy to digest especially if you’re struggling to connect with it. I myself have barely read Classics in 26 years of my existence, if it wasn’t a requisite in school I probably wouldn’t have picked some up. But later on I realized how much Classics have contributed and will always be contributing a lot in today’s literature, not only does it spark a good conversation but in fact, most of today’s books have been influenced by it too. It has also shaped me as a reader in such a way that it has exposed me to stories and worlds that are out of the norm yet relevant to the world we live in. So today I thought I’d share some of my favorite classic novels (in no particular order)

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

I have mixed emotions towards the main characters of this book. Victor Frankenstein is a scientist passionate about procreation and life. One day he decides to create a human by assembling stolen dead body parts. He abhors the end result and turns the monster looking creature away. Read it and enjoyed it.

  • Gothic themed
  • fun fact: Mary Shelley was 18 years old when she wrote this book

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

1984 by George Orwell

It’s always fun to read banned books. It’s a good conversation kickstarter! This is a banned book I really enjoyed that I don’t mind reading it over and over again. It highlights resistance to oppression. I think of it as an influential read and although it is dystopian and has political insights into it, it’s a novel that expresses the thoughts of a human being which still makes it personal and moving.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetThe Trial by Franz Kafka

Here’s to my first Kafka which I didn’t expect I’d enjoy a lot. A book from the past that I could relate to the present. Josef K is a respectable banker. One day, he woke up being arrested and accused for something he didn’t know. He has to defend himself and prove he isn’t guilty for something he doesn’t even have any information of. Innocent accusations, having limited rights, and living under an authoritarian government sounds a lot like the world we live in right now. Such good reading material!! A 5⭐️ for me.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

I admit I’ve always struggled with Classics in the past but with Emily Bronte, I didn’t have a hard time getting used to her writing style and the characters. Welp I’m a sucker for tragic love stories and this novel is the essence of dark, unrequited love. Aaah. I find the novel so raw in its emotions that you can feel the lovers’ anguish and heartache. Definitely enjoyed it!

IMG_9133

 

The Tunnel by Ernesto Sabato 

Although it is considered a classic, it is a novel that’s easy to read. A novel told in a first person perspective, the perspective of Juan Pablo an artist that becomes obsessed with Maria, a woman who visited his art gallery. Murdering Maria was initially introduced in the book, in fact Juan Pablo tells his story from inside a prison cell.

For me, the word “Tunnel” is an interpretation of how Juan Pablo Castel views his life. He is fond of isolating himself from everyone. He over analyzes things a lot and over thinks things through to the point of it being unhealthy. His delusions are just a whole nother level of crazy disturbing. It’s such a dark book that gives a rush of emotions all throughout the chapters. I highly recommend it! 5 ⭐️ for me. Fun fact, Ernesto Sabato is an Argentine author and is an artist himself.

 

Author: readsforkeeps

Avid reader. Currently based in Doha.

Leave a comment