A REVIEW: What if it’s US by Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli

“I just think you’re meant to meet some people. I think the universe nudges them into your path.”
― Becky Albertalli, What If It’s Us

Arthur is staying in New York for the summer. He’s keeping himself busy by interning at the lawfirm his mother is working at. Meanwhile, Ben is focused on his summer classes to keep him occupied and distracted from his recent breakup. One afternoon at the post office, Ben decides to send all his ex-boyfriend’s things back to him. That’s the same day he meets Arthur, amidst their conversation a proposal flash mob begins out of nowhere which separates them. As the venture begins, they try to search for each other in the city that never sleeps.

This is my first of Silvera’s and Albertalli’s and I must say, it was a good author collab! I highly enjoyed reading it. I thought it was adorable, romantic, and funny. Reading this was like watching a movie. I simply devoured it. The characters are fun to read and it’s cool how they mature as the story progresses. I somehow relate to Ben as someone who enjoys playing The Sims alot. Lol. I also like the secondary characters, from Arthur’s officemates Namrata and Ben’s bestfriend Dylan. They always throw cool punchlines and are both really loyal to their friends. The numerous Harry Potter and Hamilton references were a bit too much that it made me cringe though. But yeah another thing I appreciate is how accepting and cool their parents are, there’s just none of that drama. It isn’t just a story about two strangers falling in love but it’s a story about family, friendship, forgiveness and understanding oneself as well. I give it a 4 colorful stars!

Author: readsforkeeps

Avid reader. Currently based in Doha.

Leave a comment